Newb questions

Talk about all things related to Conquer Club

Moderator: Community Team

Forum rules
Please read the community guidelines before posting.
Post Reply
b4dguy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:17 am

Newb questions

Post by b4dguy »

Could someone help me to clear out some of my confusions regarding spoils? I have done a few games (managed to win 1), but I still don't understand about the spoils (except the one from controlling all of the regions from a single group).

As the image below shows, I have no idea about the lines under the map types. So, if someone could clear that for me, I would be very grateful.
Image

Another question is what are cards? I have read some strategies in the forum, but I always stumble upon someone mentioning "cards", is that a technical jargon for spoil?

Thankyou for answering.
User avatar
jpcloet
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:18 am
Gender: Male
Location: Greater Toronto Area

Re: Newb questions

Post by jpcloet »

You are playing Flat Rate which means

3 Red = 4 men
3 Green = 6 Men
3 Blue = 8 Men
1 Red 1 Green 1 Blue = 10 men

Cards = Spoils (Cards was the Risk Term so it was changed to spoils some time ago)
brian fletcher
SoC Training Adviser
Posts: 570
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:42 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Bournemouth UK

Re: Newb questions

Post by brian fletcher »

Also. The bold [bracketed] spoil. [Mathius Goodbook]Has 2 free troops added when you cash your cards. (spoils)
b4dguy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:17 am

Re: Newb questions

Post by b4dguy »

Thanks for the answers guys, I appreciate them :)
But I think my thick skull still don't really get the spoils part

Now, this is the display of the spoils:
My Spoils ([bracketed] if owned): g:Blackcat Mews g:Frogstomp b:Wicked The Witch g:Allfellows Church


So from my understanding so far, if I own the Blackcat mews, Frogstomp, and Allfellows Church, I would gain 6 troops if I cashed in next turn? How about if I only own one? I presume nothing would happened then?

And what about that single blue (Wicked the Witch) there? I thought we need to have 3 of the same colors or 1 of each for the bonuses..

Thanks for answering once again :)
User avatar
samuelc812
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:56 am
Gender: Male

Re: Newb questions

Post by samuelc812 »

In Flat Rate there are only 4 combinations of spoils.

3 Red = 4 troops
3 Green = 6 troops
3 Blue = 8 troops
1 of each (Mixed Set) = 10 troops

So yes you need 3 spoils and they need to be one of the above combinations to cash. 2 greens and 1 blue is not a set in your case ;)

Any spoils that are [bolded] and [bracketed] are territories you hold. And 2 extra armies will be deployed when you cash a card for a territory that you possess.

~Sam
b4dguy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:17 am

Re: Newb questions

Post by b4dguy »

Ah, that clears out my confusions, thank you :)
Chuuuuck
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:09 am

Re: Newb questions

Post by Chuuuuck »

I hope the above answered it completely but I will try to explain in some more detail.

Spoils is just one type of game play. You will notice that there are 4 total types now regarding spoils. The four types are

1)Flat rate spoils
2)Escalating spoils
3) Nuclear spoils
4) No spoils

If the game is no spoils then it is very simple and straight forward. You play the map as you see it. There are no cards (or spoils) involved.

If the game is any of the other 3 options, then some type of spoils are involved. Every player gets a card (or spoil) at the end of each of their turns in which they conquered or bombarded a territory. If you do not conquer or bombard a territory in a turn then you do not get a card for that turn. Each card can be either red, green, or blue and will have an associated territory name with it. In order to turn in a set of cards (spoils) you must have one of the sets mentioned in posts before

1) 3 red
2) 3 green
3) 3 blue
4) 1 red, 1 green, 1 blue

In a flate rate game, 3 reds are worth 4 armies, 3 greens are worth 6 armies, 3 blues are worth are 8 armies and 1 red, 1 green, 1 blue (more commonly called a mixed set or rainbow) are worth 10 armies.

In an escalating game, which set you turn in does not matter as far as the number of armies you get are concerned. No matter what the set turned in is, the sets are worth armies in increasing order int he order they are turned in. The first set is worth 4 armies, then 6, then 8, 10, 12, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc... As escalating games go on, spoils get to be worth A LOT of armies and that usually controls how the game is played.

In both flat rate and escalating games if the territory name is Bold and Bracketed, this means that you currently control that territory. If you play a card in a set that you control the territory, then you automatically get +2 armies placed directly on that territory.

Nuclear spoils is completely different than flat rate and escalating. In nuclear spoils you do not get an army bonus for cashing. Instead, when you cash, the territory with the name on the card that you cash is automatically "nuked" no matter who controls it. This means no matter what color it is or how many armies are on it the territory automatically goes to a neutral 1. Obviously, in this format you do not want to cash cards of territories you control because it will kill your own guys. You want to cash cards that your opponent controls so you will kill their guys.

In each of the game types that control cards, the most cards you can have at any given time is 5. If you think about it a little, once you have 5 cards you will have a set every time. The game will make you cash when you have 5 cards.

When a player eliminates another play from the game. That player gets the cards (or spoils) from the player they eliminated. If their spoils puts that player over 5 total cards, then that player will be prompted by the game to cash another set immediately in the middle of the turn until they have less than 5 cards in their hand.

I hope this clarifies everything you needed to know. It is a great site and a great game and I hope you enjoy playing it.
pedrojsrd
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:59 pm
Gender: Male

Re: Newb questions

Post by pedrojsrd »

In a team game with unlimited reinforcements I can reinforce trough my teammates territorys or only trough mines ?

Please answer is urgent
Chuuuuck
Posts: 1298
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:09 am

Re: Newb questions

Post by Chuuuuck »

In chained and unlimited reinforcements, you can only reinforce THROUGH your territories, but you can reinforce TO your teammates territory.

You can not pass armies over your teammates territories to another territory on the other side though. Once your armies cross your territories that can stop on one of yours or on an adjacent territory belonging to your teammate.
b4dguy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:17 am

Re: Newb questions

Post by b4dguy »

Thank you very much for the comprehensive explanation Chuck, it greatly helps and I just won my second geame :D
Post Reply

Return to “Conquer Club Discussion”